Anna Frick / Entertainment / Home

Making a scene within the community

Through community theaters near Souderton, students are learning life skills and creating new friendships with fellow actors. With few requirements needed, theater is proving to be a good investment.

Getting their act together...Showing their passion for community theater, (from left) Shrek Jr. cast members Kiara Jacoby, Chelsea Sharp, Emma Ford, and Nicole Nadwodny prepare to run through the song “Make A Move“ at the Montgomery Theater.

Getting their act together…Showing their passion for community theater, (from left) Shrek Jr. cast members Kiara Jacoby, Chelsea Sharp, Emma Ford, and Nicole Nadwodny prepare to run through the song “Make A Move“ at the Montgomery Theater.

By putting themselves out there with auditions, Souderton students of all ages are becoming involved in local theaters during and outside of the school year for the new experiences and opportunities it brings.

“I just love it,” said junior Chelsea Sharp. “When you go to a theater, it’s like you’re just lost for those two and a half hours. Nothing else matters except the show you’re seeing and it’s really magical.”

According to Sharp, she became interested in community theater through the school plays and musicals put on throughout the year.

“I did the school shows and I decided to do some community stuff because I realized that it might be something that I could pursue,” said Sharp.

Theater not only benefits the audience, but also the actors as well.

“[Theater] kind of improved my public speaking skills because beforehand, I talked way too fast and way too quietly,” said eighth grader Thomas Bywaters. “Now, I still talk fast, but now I can do it louder and with a bit more diction.”

According to freshman Emma Ford, being in shows has helped her know what direction to take her life.

“Theater is what I want to do with my career,” said Ford. “It’s made me see and grow in a lot of my talents and skills and made me meet new people who I otherwise wouldn’t have met.”
Many of the students feel as though theater has affected them in a positive way.

“It’s actually made [my life] better because I meet a lot of new people,” said fourth grader Joseph Beck. “I’m always so excited for the shows.”

Even though they’ve been in shows before, not all students have been able to shake off their nerves. This can prove to be good for some while hazardous for others. In Bywater’s case, it’s an advantage.

“I get that nervous energy that makes it so that you can get it out,” said Bywaters.

With Sharp, it can work both ways.

“Sometimes [I] can really get nervous when I go on stage and I’m still shaking and that’s not good,” said Sharp, “but then, other times, I have that pumped energy and I’m ready to go and get in the spirit.”

The trick to balancing theater and school is different for every person.

“I usually just do school work before I go out to theater because it’s usually either right after school, and then I can do my homework later, or it’s later and I can do it before practice,” said sophomore Jon Barber.

In Ford’s case, she handles it a little differently.

“I often do my homework and study as I go,” said Ford. “I try very hard not to procrastinate.”
According to Sharp, you have to take education in moderation.

“It’s just a matter of picking the right classes. I have to realize that I can’t take the absolute hardest and demanding classes because if so, I’m just not going to get anything done,” said Sharp. “I have to know what I should take and how to develop good time management skills.”

According to Barber, being involved in theater has been great for him.

“I believe it’s the most fun experience that’s out there,” said Barber. “I really enjoy every time I do a new show.”

Barber, Sharp, Beck, Bywaters, and Ford are involved in the Montgomery Theater’s program that is adjusted for kids to participate in shows.

The stage where they perform is called the Project Stage, where they have just currently finished the show Shrek Jr.

By Anna Frick
Arrowhead Staff Writer